Your Councillors

There are 38 councillors directing the work of the Council, elected by the voters of Vale of White Horse. Our elections are held every four years.

The Liberal Democrat Party currently holds the majority of seats on the council. There are 30 Liberal Democrat councillors, 6 Conservative councillors, one Green Party councillor and one Independent councillor.

Each Councillor represents a ward in Vale of White Horse.

Local Councillors decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent the public interest as well as individuals living within the ward they represent.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Your Councillor may hold local surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. Information on allowances can be found in the documents library. All members of the council sign a code of conduct and are required to complete a declaration of interest form.

To find a councillor, please look on this page or use the links below.

If you are not sure which ward you live in you can use the search option below to find information out about council services in your area and the name of your local councillor. Search by postcode or town/village.

Councillor
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Jerry Avery

Councillor Jerry Avery

Vice-Chair of the Council and Armed Forces and Veterans Champion

18 Dean Court Road, Cumnor Hill, Oxford, OX2 9XD

Work: Jerry.Avery@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Thames
photo of Councillor Matthew Barber

Councillor Matthew Barber

Orchard View, Church Street, West Hanney, Wantage, OX12 0LW

Home mobile: 07816 481452

Work: matthew.barber@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Conservative Steventon and the Hanneys
photo of Councillor Paul Barrow

Councillor Paul Barrow

The Old Vicarage, Letcombe Hill, East Challow, Wantage, OX12 9RP

Home: 01235 771162

Home mobile: 07557 953862

Work: Paul.Barrow@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Ridgeway
photo of Councillor Ron Batstone

Councillor Ron Batstone

17 St Johns Road, Grove, Wantage, OX12 7PP

Home: 01235 763564

Home mobile: 07941 801479

Work: Ron.Batstone@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Grove North
photo of Councillor Eric Batts

Councillor Eric Batts

35 Cherry Tree Close, Southmoor, Abingdon, OX13 5BE

Home: 01865 821565

Home mobile: 07590 497798

Work: eric.batts@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Conservative Kingston Bagpuize
photo of Councillor Samantha Bowring

Councillor Samantha Bowring

23 Turberville Close, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 5ER

Home mobile: 07767 072095

Work: Samantha.Bowring@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Caldecott
photo of Councillor Nathan Boyd

Councillor Nathan Boyd

30 Kings Lane, Longcot, SN7 7SS

Home mobile: 07568 707469

Work: Nathan.Boyd@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Conservative Stanford
photo of Councillor Cheryl Briggs

Councillor Cheryl Briggs

7 Levery Close, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 3XX

Work: Cheryl.Briggs@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Green Abingdon Abbey Northcourt
photo of Councillor Andy Cooke

Councillor Andy Cooke

2 Marcham Road, Drayton, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 4JH

Work: 07507 602911

Home mobile: 07507 602911

Work: Andy.Cooke@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Drayton
photo of Councillor Andrew Crawford

Councillor Andrew Crawford

Cabinet member for finance

4 Charlton Road, Wantage, Oxon, OX12 8ER

Home: 01235 772134

Home mobile: 07427 880274

Work: Andy.Crawford@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Wantage Charlton
photo of Councillor Margaret Crick

Councillor Margaret Crick

Chair of the Council

50 Crosslands Drive, Abingdon, OX14 1JY

Work: margaret.crick@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Dunmore
photo of Councillor Eric de la Harpe

Councillor Eric de la Harpe

Cycling champion

5 Thurston Close, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 5RD

Work: eric.delaharpe@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Fitzharris
photo of Councillor Amos Duveen

Councillor Amos Duveen

22 Moir Court, Wantage, Oxon, OX12 9AF

Work: Amos.Duveen@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Wantage and Grove Brook
photo of Councillor Neil Fawcett

Councillor Neil Fawcett

Cabinet member for legal and democratic

23 Turberville Close, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 5ER

Home mobile: 07810 482376

Work: Neil.Fawcett@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Caldecott
photo of Councillor Andy Foulsham

Councillor Andy Foulsham

6 Hillview Road, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 1ND

Home mobile: 07977 416133

Work: Andy.Foulsham@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Dunmore
photo of Councillor Hayleigh Gascoigne

Councillor Hayleigh Gascoigne

68 Candytuft Way, Harwell, Oxon, OX11 6FX

Work: Hayleigh.Gascoigne@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Blewbury and Harwell
photo of Councillor David Grant

Councillor David Grant

32 London Street, Faringdon, Oxon, SN7 7AA

Home: 01367 612160

Work: David.Grant@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Faringdon
photo of Councillor Debby Hallett

Councillor Debby Hallett

Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet member for Corporate Services

23 Sycamore Road, Oxford, OX2 9EJ

Home mobile: 07545 241013

Work: debby.hallett@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Botley and Sunningwell
photo of Councillor Jenny Hannaby

Councillor Jenny Hannaby

Cabinet member for housing and environment

Flat A, 33 Wallingford Street, Wantage, OX12 8AU

Home: 01235 767056

Work mobile: 07736 893148

Home mobile: 07717271711

Work: jenny.hannaby@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Wantage and Grove Brook
photo of Councillor Simon Howell

Councillor Simon Howell

5 Coxs Road, Shrivenham, SN6 8EL

Home: 01793 784491

Work: simon.howell@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Conservative Watchfield and Shrivenham
photo of Councillor Alison Jenner

Councillor Alison Jenner

91 Norreys Road, Cumnor, Oxford, OX2 9PU

Home mobile: 07598 251161

Work: Alison.Jenner@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Cumnor
photo of Councillor Bob Johnston

Councillor Bob Johnston

102 Kennington Road, Kennington, Oxford, OX1 5PE

Home: 01865 730209

Work: bob.johnston@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Kennington and Radley
photo of Councillor Diana Lugova

Councillor Diana Lugova

1B St Swithuns Road, Kennington, Oxford, OX1 5PT

Home mobile: 07878 360169

Work: Diana.Lugova@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Kennington and Radley
photo of Councillor Robert Maddison

Councillor Robert Maddison

Home mobile: 07724 540099

Work: Robert.Maddison@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Fitzharris
photo of Councillor Sarah Medley

Councillor Sarah Medley

31 Cornflower Close, Harwell, Didcot, Oxon, OX11 6ES

Home: 01235 510228

Work: Sarah.Medley@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Blewbury and Harwell
photo of Councillor Ruth Molyneaux

Councillor Ruth Molyneaux

Home: 01235 718756

Home mobile: 07801203523

Work: Ruth.Molyneaux@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Independent Grove North
photo of Councillor Patrick O'Leary

Councillor Patrick O'Leary

34 Hampden Road, Wantage, Oxon, OX12 7DP

Home: 01235 799073

Home mobile: 07890 145109

Work: Patrick.O'leary@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Wantage Charlton
photo of Councillor Helen Pighills

Councillor Helen Pighills

Cabinet member for community services

Northcourt Lodge, 106 Oxford Road, Abingdon, OX14 2AG

Home: 01235 534446

Work: helen.pighills@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Abbey Northcourt
photo of Councillor Mike Pighills

Councillor Mike Pighills

Northcourt Lodge, 106 Oxford Road, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 2AG

Home: 01235 534446

Work: Mike.Pighills@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Peachcroft
photo of Councillor Judy Roberts

Councillor Judy Roberts

Cabinet member for partnership and insight

1 Stone Close, Botley, Oxford, OX2 9SQ

Home: 01865 864041

Work: judy.roberts@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Cumnor
photo of Councillor Val Shaw

Councillor Val Shaw

Hillside, Orchard Lane, Boars Hill, Oxford, OX1 5JH

Work: Val.Shaw@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Wootton
photo of Councillor Janet Shelley

Councillor Janet Shelley

1 Hillside, Newbury Road, East Hendred, Wantage, OX12 8LE

Home mobile: 07791 266331

Work: janet.shelley@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Conservative Hendreds
photo of Councillor Emily Smith

Councillor Emily Smith

Leader of the Council

2 Sycamore Road, Botley, Oxford, OX2 9EJ

Home mobile: 07879 640645

Work: emily.smith@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Botley and Sunningwell
photo of Councillor Bethia Thomas

Councillor Bethia Thomas

Cabinet member for development and regeneration

15 Gravel Walk, Faringdon, SN7 7JN

Home mobile: 07906 821680

Work: Bethia.Thomas@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Faringdon
photo of Councillor Max Thompson

Councillor Max Thompson

133 Ock Street, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 5DL

Work: Max.Thompson@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Peachcroft
photo of Councillor Elaine Ware

Councillor Elaine Ware

31 Station Road, Shrivenham, Swindon, SN6 8ED

Home: 01793 783026

Work: elaine.ware@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Conservative Watchfield and Shrivenham
photo of Councillor Catherine Webber

Councillor Catherine Webber

Cabinet member for planning

Orchard Barn, Sutton Wick Lane, Drayton, Abingdon, OX14 4HJ

Home: 01235 534001

Work: catherine.webber@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Marcham
photo of Councillor Richard Webber

Councillor Richard Webber

Orchard Barn, Sutton Wick Lane, Drayton, OX14 4HJ

Work: 01235 534001

Home: 01235 534001

Work: Richard.Webber@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Sutton Courtenay