Your Councillors by Ward

There are 38 councillors directing the work of the Council, elected by the voters of Vale of White Horse. Our elections are held every four years.

The Liberal Democrat Party currently holds the majority of seats on the council. There are 32 Liberal Democrat councillors, four Green Party councillors, one independent councillor, and one vacancy.

Each Councillor represents a ward in Vale of White Horse.

Local Councillors decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent the public interest as well as individuals living within the ward they represent.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Your Councillor may hold local surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. Information on allowances can be found in the documents library. All members of the council sign a code of conduct and are required to complete a declaration of interest form.

To find a councillor, please look on this page or use the links below.

If you are not sure which ward you live in you can use the search option below to find information out about council services in your area and the name of your local councillor. Search by postcode or town/village.

 Abingdon Abbey Northcourt

 Abingdon Caldecott

 Abingdon Dunmore

 Abingdon Fitzharris

 Abingdon Peachcroft

 Blewbury and Harwell

 Botley and Sunningwell




  • Councillor Lucy Edwards


    Liberal Democrat

    Cabinet member for Communications, customer services and legal and democratic

  • Councillor Bethia Thomas


    Liberal Democrat

    Council Leader and climate action, nature recovery and strategic partnerships

 Grove North


 Kennington and Radley

 Kingston Bagpuize




  • Councillor Sue Caul


    Liberal Democrat

    Cabinet member for Housing, leisure facilities and community buildings

 Steventon and the Hanneys

 Sutton Courtenay


 Wantage and Grove Brook

 Wantage Charlton

 Watchfield and Shrivenham