Your Councillors by Party

There are 38 councillors directing the work of the Council, elected by the voters of Vale of White Horse. Our elections are held every four years.

The Liberal Democrat Party currently holds the majority of seats on the council. There are 32 Liberal Democrat councillors, four Green Party councillors, one independent councillor, and one vacancy.

Each Councillor represents a ward in Vale of White Horse.

Local Councillors decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent the public interest as well as individuals living within the ward they represent.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Your Councillor may hold local surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. Information on allowances can be found in the documents library. All members of the council sign a code of conduct and are required to complete a declaration of interest form.

To find a councillor, please look on this page or use the links below.

If you are not sure which ward you live in you can use the search option below to find information out about council services in your area and the name of your local councillor. Search by postcode or town/village.

Councillor by Party
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Paul Barrow

Councillor Paul Barrow

The Old Vicarage, Letcombe Hill, East Challow, Wantage, OX12 9RP

Home: 01235 771162

Home mobile: 07557 953862

Work: Paul.Barrow@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Ridgeway
photo of Councillor Ron Batstone

Councillor Ron Batstone

17 St Johns Road, Grove, Wantage, OX12 7PP

Home: 01235 763564

Home mobile: 07941 801479

Work: Ron.Batstone@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Grove North
photo of Councillor Kiera Bentley

Councillor Kiera Bentley

Chair of the Council

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home mobile: 07799 414600

Work: kiera.bentley@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Grove North
photo of Councillor Sue Caul

Councillor Sue Caul

Cabinet member for affordable housing, infrastructure, development and governance

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Work: sue.caul@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Stanford
photo of Councillor Robert Clegg

Councillor Robert Clegg

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home mobile: 07784 225290

Work: robert.clegg@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Marcham
photo of Councillor Mark Coleman

Councillor Mark Coleman

Deputy Leader and Cabinet member for environmental services and waste

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home mobile: 07483 224436

Work: mark.coleman@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Thames
photo of Councillor Andy Cooke

Councillor Andy Cooke

2 Marcham Road, Drayton, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 4JH

Work: 07507 602911

Home mobile: 07507 602911

Work: Andy.Cooke@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Drayton
photo of Councillor James Cox

Councillor James Cox

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Work: james.cox@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Kennington and Radley
photo of Councillor Andy Crawford

Councillor Andy Crawford

Cabinet member for finance and property

4 Charlton Road, Wantage, Oxon, OX12 8ER

Home mobile: 07427 880274

Work: Andy.Crawford@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Wantage Charlton
photo of Councillor Eric de la Harpe

Councillor Eric de la Harpe

5 Thurston Close, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 5RD

Home mobile: 07962 077965

Work: eric.delaharpe@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Fitzharris
photo of Councillor Debra Dewhurst

Councillor Debra Dewhurst

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home mobile: 07796 581652

Work: debra.dewhurst@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Blewbury and Harwell
photo of Councillor Amos Duveen

Councillor Amos Duveen

22 Moir Court, Wantage, Oxon, OX12 9AF

Work: Amos.Duveen@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Wantage and Grove Brook
photo of Councillor Lucy Edwards

Councillor Lucy Edwards

Cabinet member for communications

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home mobile: 07718123061

Work: lucy.edwards@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Faringdon
photo of Councillor Neil Fawcett

Councillor Neil Fawcett

Cabinet member for economic development

23 Turberville Close, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 5ER

Home mobile: 07810 482376

Work: Neil.Fawcett@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Caldecott
photo of Councillor Oliver Forder

Councillor Oliver Forder

Vice-Chair of Council

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home: 01235 553891

Home mobile: 07774 188862

Work: oliver.forder@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Dunmore
photo of Councillor Andy Foulsham

Councillor Andy Foulsham

Cabinet member for corporate services, policy and programmes

6 Hillview Road, Abingdon, Oxfordshire, OX14 1ND

Home mobile: 07977 416133

Work: Andy.Foulsham@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Dunmore
photo of Councillor Hayleigh Gascoigne

Councillor Hayleigh Gascoigne

68 Candytuft Way, Harwell, Oxon, OX11 6FX

Work: Hayleigh.Gascoigne@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Blewbury and Harwell
photo of Councillor Debby Hallett

Councillor Debby Hallett

23 Sycamore Road, Oxford, OX2 9EJ

Home mobile: 07545 241013

Work: debby.hallett@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Botley and Sunningwell
photo of Councillor Jenny Hannaby

Councillor Jenny Hannaby

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home: 01235 767056

Work mobile: 07736 893148

Home mobile: 07717271711

Work: jenny.hannaby@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Wantage and Grove Brook
photo of Councillor Scott Houghton

Councillor Scott Houghton

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Work: scott.houghton@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Cumnor
photo of Councillor Diana Lugova

Councillor Diana Lugova

Cabinet member for planning and development management

1B St Swithuns Road, Kennington, Oxford, OX1 5PT

Home mobile: 07878 360169

Work: Diana.Lugova@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Kennington and Radley
photo of Councillor Robert Maddison

Councillor Robert Maddison

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home mobile: 07743959302

Work: Robert.Maddison@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Fitzharris
photo of Councillor Patrick O'Leary

Councillor Patrick O'Leary

34 Hampden Road, Wantage, Oxon, OX12 7DP

Home: 01235 799073

Home mobile: 07890 145109

Work: Patrick.O'leary@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Wantage Charlton
photo of Councillor Helen Pighills

Councillor Helen Pighills

Cabinet member for community health and wellbeing

Northcourt Lodge, 106 Oxford Road, Abingdon, OX14 2AG

Home: 01235 534446

Work: helen.pighills@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Abbey Northcourt
photo of Councillor Mike Pighills

Councillor Mike Pighills

Northcourt Lodge, 106 Oxford Road, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 2AG

Home: 01235 534446

Work: Mike.Pighills@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Peachcroft
photo of Councillor Jill Rayner

Councillor Jill Rayner

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home mobile: 07774 411111

Work: jill.rayner@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Kingston Bagpuize
photo of Councillor Judy Roberts

Councillor Judy Roberts

1 Stone Close, Botley, Oxford, OX2 9SQ

Home: 01865 864041

Work: judy.roberts@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Cumnor
photo of Councillor Val Shaw

Councillor Val Shaw

Hillside, Orchard Lane, Boars Hill, Oxford, OX1 5JH

Home: 01865 326934

Work: Val.Shaw@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Wootton
photo of Councillor Andrew Skinner

Councillor Andrew Skinner

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home mobile: 07903 390407

Work: andrew.skinner@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Caldecott
photo of Councillor Emily Smith

Councillor Emily Smith

42 Hutchcomb Road, Botley, Oxford, OX2 9HL

Work mobile: 07986 877933

Work: emily.smith@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Botley and Sunningwell
photo of Councillor Bethia Thomas

Councillor Bethia Thomas

Leader of the Council and climate action and the environment, strategic partnerships and place

15 Gravel Walk, Faringdon, SN7 7JN

Home mobile: 07906 821680

Work: Bethia.Thomas@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Faringdon
photo of Councillor Max Thompson

Councillor Max Thompson

133 Ock Street, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 5DL

Work: Max.Thompson@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Abingdon Peachcroft
photo of Councillor Cheryl Briggs

Councillor Cheryl Briggs

7 Levery Close, Abingdon, Oxon, OX14 3XX

Work: Cheryl.Briggs@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Green Abingdon Abbey Northcourt
photo of Councillor Katherine Foxhall

Councillor Katherine Foxhall

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home mobile: 07916 285305

Work: katherine.foxhall@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Green Watchfield and Shrivenham
photo of Councillor Sarah James

Councillor Sarah James

Leader of the Green Group

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Home mobile: 07811 085661

Work: sarah.james1@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Green Hendreds
photo of Councillor Viral Patel

Councillor Viral Patel

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Work mobile: 07448 191658

Work: viral.patel@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Green Watchfield and Shrivenham
photo of Councillor Sally Povolotsky

Councillor Sally Povolotsky

c/o Vale of White Horse District Council, Abbey House, Abbey close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE

Work: sally.povolotsky@whitehorsedc.gov.uk

Independent Steventon and the Hanneys
photo of Vacancy for Sutton Courtenay Ward

Vacancy for Sutton Courtenay Ward

  Sutton Courtenay